Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

           

123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789

email@address.com

 

You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

SAVAnT

 SAVAnT: the CHASE doctoral school in American Art

SAVAnT (School of American Visual Arts and Text) is the CHASE doctoral school in American art and visual culture, exploring how Art History intersects with American Studies and other relevant disciplines. SAVAnT seeks to map the lines that lie across and between Art History, Visual Culture, and American Studies in all historical periods, and across the Americas broadly defined. The school aims to support research and dialogue both between these fields and between CHASE institutions. If your PhD includes aspects of American visual material, SAVAnT warmly invites your participation.

All interested students or faculty are invited also to attend our opening event, Chasing America, on December 9th 2017 at the Courtauld Institute of Art, Somerset House, Strand, London. See the link for more details:

http://courtauld.ac.uk/event/chasing-america-chase-doctoral-school-american-art-text


SAVAnT past and future:

 Founded as a network in 2014 by co-directors Joanna Pawlik (Art History, Sussex) and Doug Haynes (American Studies, Sussex), SAVAnT as a CHASE school is now fortunate indeed to have David Peters Corbett (Courtauld Institute) as co-director as well as a host of other CHASE colleagues as potential supervisors and advisors. Participants in SAVAnT are based in universities across the consortium at all career levels and covering a wealth of specialisms.

SAVAnT has so far organized workshops, conference panels, and symposia, at the British Library, at Senate House, at the Courtauld Institute, and at Northumbria University. As a CHASE school, we now encourage students to approach colleagues on our list of participants as potential supervisors, or as mentors for doctoral work. Inter-institutional co-supervision in the CHASE consortium is especially encouraged and student travel costs will be found for these kinds of study arrangements.

As a CHASE school, SAVAnT will provide a programme of connected training events, including lectures, workshops, and seminars. The school will also be a forum for public and academic events. We are fortunate to have the Eccles Centre at the British Library as a partner, as well as the Essex Collection of Art from Latin America at the University of Essex, the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts at UEA, the Brunei Gallery at SOAS, and The Keep archive at Sussex. We also have a non-CHASE academic partner in the Rothermere American Institute at the University of Oxford.

Using the SAVAnT network, faculty and students will be able to collaborate in research projects, symposia, conferences, exhibitions, reading groups, and other creative and academic activities.


Currently SAVAnT faculty and research interests:

David Stirrup, D.F.Stirrup@kent.ac.uk 

19th, 20th, 21st century Native North American literature and art; Indigenous image-text; visuality;

Tania Tribe tt10@soas.ac.uk;

Joanna Pawlik, J.Pawlik@sussex.ac.uk 

Post-war American art and visual culture; avant-gardism, dada and surrealism in particular; transnationalism; art and protest; little magazines; region and regionalism;

Doug Haynes, d.e.haynes@sussex.ac.uk

Modern and contemporary American Literature and Visual Art; Critical Theory; Economy and Art; Affect Theory; Ideas of Humour;

Laila Haidarali lhaid@essex.ac.uk

Modern U.S. History; African America, with focus on Women; The Harlem Renaissance; Race, Gender, and Representation; Visual Culture; Mass-market magazines; Fashion, Beauty, and Style.

David Peters Corbett, David.Peterscorbett@courtauld.ac.uk

US and British art, 1850-1950. City painting in the US, 1880-1940. Word and image, particularly nineteenth and early-twentieth century;

Rebecca Arnold: Rebecca.Arnold@courtauld.ac.uk

Ready-to-wear fashion, Interwar French couture, Fashion and modernity, Dress and the body, Dress and the senses, Film and fashion, Dress and the everyday, American fashion, Documentary Photography;

Sarah Garland, Sarah.Garland@uea.ac.uk

20th century word and image; American modernism; American avant-garde; artists books; mid-century multimedia, intermedia and conceptual art. 

Will Norman, W.Norman@kent.ac.uk

Twentieth-century American literature and culture, especially midcentury modernism in literature and the visual arts; transatlantic exchange; crime fiction;

Michael Collins, M.J.Collins@kent.ac.uk

Visual Anthropology - 1860s to 1920. Specifically, in the Boasian tradition.

American Realism into Modernism. The Ashcan School. Thomas Eakins.

Martin Hammer, M.A.Hammer@kent.ac.uk  

US/UK artistic exchange, especially Hockney in the 1960s.  Recent publications include: ‘David Hockney’s “A bigger splash”: photographic source and artistic affinities’, Burlington Magazine, May 2017. Also, artistic dialogue between Hockney and a/ Johns; b/ Ruscha. Broader interest in how ideas from and about America, as artistic centre and social order, informed cultural practice in Britain. 

Stella Bolaki S.Bolaki@kent.ac.uk 

Disability and illness in contemporary American art and visual culture

Matt Lodder mlodder@essex.ac.uk

Tamar Jeffers McDonald T.Jeffers-McDonald@kent.ac.uk

Anne-Marie Angelo A.Angelo@sussex.ac.uk

Caroline Blinder c.blinder@gold.ac.uk

Intersections between documentary photography and literature, in particular early to mid-twentieth century studies of the United States, and the ways in which politics and aesthetics intersect in photo-textual practice.  

Non-CHASE SAVAnT participants include:

Mark Rawlinson, mark.rawlinson@nottingham.ac.uk

Sara Wood, s.k.wood@bham.ac.uk

James Boaden, James.Boaden@york.ac.uk

Warren Carter warren.carter@open.ac.uk

Zara Dinnen z.dinnen@bham.ac.uk

Lucy Bradnock, Lucy.Bradnock@nottingham.ac.uk

Jody Patterson, jody.patterson@plymouth.ac.uk

John Fagg, j.m.fagg@bham.ac.uk

Stephanie Lewthwaite, stephanie.lewthwaite@nottingham.ac.uk

Molly Le-Veq, M.Le-Veque@uea.ac.uk

Catherine Gander, catherine.gander@mu.ie

Fiona Anderson, Fiona.Anderson@ed.ac.uk

Barnaby Haran, mailto:B.Haran@hull.ac.uk

Caleb Bailey, aaxcb5@nottingham.ac.uk

Kristen Treen, kt307@cam.ac.uk

Jenny Terry, j.a.terry@durham.ac.uk

Cara Rodway, Cara.Rodway@bl.uk

Celeste-Marie Bernier, Celeste-Marie.Bernier@ed.ac.uk

Students wishing to participate in the SAVAnT programme should sign up below.